Life as a Blogger

Edublogs Teacher Challenge week 1 #ksyb


Wordle: Life as a blogger

http://www.wordle.net/show/wrdl/2990621/Life_as_a_blogger

Life as a blogger… start at the beginning. I started writing my first, and until now, my only blog http://www.dewarsontherocks.wordpress.com on October 1st, 2006. At the time I was teaching/living in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and was so fortunate to have a handful of truly amazing tech teachers at my school. I had just completed my first year at that school, and had done a blogging project and electronic portfolio project with tech ed teacher Susan. It was, and still is, one of the most successful and engaging things I have ever done with students in my career. So fast forward a few months and I decide to start my own personal blog.

I wanted my blog to be a place where I record my thoughts, my life’s happenings, and a way to make home seem not so far away. I didn’t have a huge audience, but that was okay. My blog was more for me than anyone else, but I also wanted it to be there for my close friends who would be interested in what was happening in my life on the other side of the planet. I was always very conscious that this was a public forum and so I did, and still do, keep a lot of my private thoughts to myself. I know I have some friends out there who believe that true, deep sharing only occurs when we share those most vulnerable and inner-most parts of ourselves, and maybe they’re right, but I’m not there, and probably won’t ever be.

I do like looking back through my blog and remembering where I was, both geographically and often emotionally. I think my blog has served me well as an online journal of my private life, that’s just not too private.

My blog has been most successful (success = frequency of posts added) when I have had some sort of project. I began my blog when I knew that I’d be leaving KL for parts unknown, and so my blog was initially centered on that aspect of my life. Then when I got to Belgium, my blog fell to the wayside. I had a friend tell me that there’s a conundrum with blogging. When you have lots of interesting things going on, you don’t have the time or energy to blog about them, but then when you have the time to blog, you’re often left lacking for topics. I think there’s some truth to that statement. Of course, I’m also a firm believer in the idea that we all have time for those things which we prioritize. So for me, it would seem that there are times, many of them, when I haven’t made my blog a priority.

Now I’m at home, and am no longer teaching on the international circuit, and am looking at ways that I can bring tech into my classes here. And so I started my professional blog, and am trying to wrap my head around the logistics of blogging with my students at school.

So, right now I have my personal blog where I’ll be posting things about my personal life. Just today I signed up to run in the Vancouver half marathon in May. I hate running. I always have, but after doing two baby triathlons last summer, and loving that experience, I know that I really have to work on my running to improve my tri times. And what better way to improve than to meet the demon head on?

As for this blog. I want this place to be a sounding board for my thoughts about teaching and learning. I’m slowly building a personal learning network of other passionate educators, and am so happy to include my tech teachers friends who I used to work with, several years, and countries, ago.

This entry was posted in Edublog Teacher Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life as a Blogger

  1. It starts just like this. You commit, you write and not worry about who is reading or where it is going, You write the things that you can’t keep in and hold on to the things you can’t let out.

    Over time the two will dovetail, you just sit and listen and write. We will read….

  2. murcha says:

    I really enjoy reading participants’ blogging journey as part of the ‘Kick Start Your Blog” challenge. What wonderful experiences you have had – teaching in Malaysia and Belgium. Those two countries would have been so different. How did you find technology in both of those countries. I really like Jabiz’ comment above.

  3. eslbeth says:

    I hate running, too. Can’t seem to get myself to do that. I, too, have a blog that’s stalled. And I, too, had the problem with the wordl on wordpress (eslbeth). I have a mac, and I tried taking a screenshot and putting it in. It looked really bad.

  4. Tammy says:

    Hi everyone,

    Thanks for the comments. Yep Murcha, Jabiz’s words often resonate with me, his comment above is no exception. My experiences with technology were great. In Malaysia it was a bit dodgy at home, but hopefully there are no problems now. Belgium was great too, and my school there actually covered the cost of my internet at home. Gotta love that!

Leave a Reply

