Pages, pages, pages

This week’s teacher edublog challenge is to add more muscle to our blogs by adding at least one additional page to our blogs.

I’m rather happy with my “about me” page on this blog, but it took me awhile to come up with an idea for an additional page. What I did here is a bit of a cop-out, adding my “My Travels” page, since this was a blog post from long ago on my personal blog. In my defense, I did update my map and my list, and added a couple of quotes about travelling that I like. But I continue to have some issues with this page. First, I’m not sure that my professional blog is where this page belongs, but I figure that’s okay. I can always move it later. Second, since I no longer live overseas and will begin paying a mortgage in the not to distant future, it’s unlikely that this map will change much in the next little while. I’m still travelling and exploring but these trips are smaller and closer to home. However, I am very excited about an upcoming ski trip to Sun Valley, Idaho. I have never been to that part of the States before.

Today, while out on a training run for my half marathon in May, I thought it would be cool to somehow track my distance ran in “real” terms. For some time I have been thinking/dreaming about completing sections of the Canada Trail. So I thought it would be cool if I could virtually “do” the trail by tracking my running kilometres. That proved a little trickier than I had predicted, since there are lots of sections of the trail that have yet to be built or trail routes finalized. So, I went to Google Maps and decided to track these kms by covering distance along the Trans Canada Highway. So now, as I run I’ll be moving my little pin further and further east towards Newfoundland. I decided to add this page to my personal blog, because that’s where I’m focussing my writing about my runs.

This entry was posted in #ksyb, Edublog Teacher Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pages, pages, pages

  1. Anna Bring says:

    Hi, nice idea with tracking your running that way. I have to check it out later on. Maybe you have some tips there to motivate me to start running as well, I would really love to find a way to get some exercise without having to go to the gym.

    I think that it might be alright to have the Travels page on your professional blog. Your travels play a part in who you are professionaly as well! I think living and working in other countries and cultures makes a huge difference to how you act as a teacher back home.

    • Tammy says:

      Thanks for your comments Anna. Yeah, I remember checking out a gym here that seemed quite expensive, and I thought about how ridiculous it seemed to spend that much money when I live in one of the most beautiful cities in the world! So now I go play outside 🙂
      Yes, I agree on your comments about teaching at home. I think I’m a lot more empathetic to my ESL kiddies having been in countries where I didn’t know the language at all!

Leave a Reply

