Do you believe in magic?

Today has been the best day I can remember in a while. And when I say awhile, I mean maybe a week or two.

People who know me will tell you I’m a pretty happy, upbeat kind of person. I like to challenge ideas and the status quo, and am prone to hyperbole at times, but I don’t think this makes me overly cynical. On Tuesday though, I did really feel like I was Chicken Little running around hollering that the sky was falling. My logical self told me to keep this in check. Stop rolling my eyes so much (a habit that I really do need to fix) and look for the positives. But my emotional side just couldn’t.

In my eyes the federal election went terribly, terribly wrong. In one week I’d be holding a pink slip in my hand that would come into effect at the end of the school year. And I can count the number of steady paycheques I have left on one hand, minus my thumb.

Then on Wednesday I came across Derek Miller’s blog, for the first time, through Twitter. It’s a blog written by a 41 year old man who died on Tuesday from cancer. The tears streamed down my face as I read his last post about his life, his battle with cancer and most importantly, his wife and two young daughters.

I had, have, nothing to complain about.

On Wednesday morning I got up early and coached shot putt with our school’s student teacher. Truthfully, I wasn’t looking forward to it. But I loved it! How great to start one’s day outdoors, playing, and coaching energetic kids with an enthusiastic colleague.

On Thursday afternoon I had a meeting with a parent of one of our grade one kiddies. This was a follow-up to a meeting in March where the parents expressed their concern about their child’s reading progress. Yesterday’s meeting was one of those great conversations where everybody is on the same page, everyone is seeing the same things and there were lots of smiles and appreciation for us as a team. Us being classroom teacher, resource teacher and parents. Awesome!

Today was magical. My daily reading group of four boys in grade one is clicking! All the work we’ve done this past year with letters and words is falling into place. The boys have become so enthusiastic about reading. Yay! My next block was meant to be spent doing guided reading with a grade two group. But when I went to pick them up, one of our student support workers was playing her guitar and singing with the most beautiful voice to this class. It was amazing! So I joined in and sat cross-legged on the carpet while we sang Simon and Garfunkel songs, I Am a Pizza (in english and en francais) and then she sang a lullabye that literally brought tears to my eyes. I’m such a softie.

Before lunch I helped a grade 3/4 class build models of forts found in Canada during the age of exploration, and learned that there was such a thing as a whiskey fort. Fort Whoop Up, Saskatchewan. Gotta love the prairies.

After lunch, my fifth grader crossed off another win on our Canucks countdown to the cup. Another kiddo is beginning to understand subtraction with regrouping. During my weekly prep time I called two people outside of our school to set up good things for a couple kiddies, and one of their teachers. And then, right at the end of the day a parent came in for a quick chat and a warm thank you.

And so it’s 4:30 on a Friday afternoon. I’ll be going home in 30minutes or when my desk is clear, whichever comes first, with a great big smile on my face… even knowing that pink slip is coming next week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you believe in magic?

  1. Clap, clap, clap. These are the kinds of post I think most of us want to read. Detailed descriptions of such simple events tied to more universal and profound emotions. Is literature anything more? Sure the craft maybe better honed and the word play more entertaining, but really we want connection to our universal humanity. That is what writing and blogging and sharing does.

    You put out a tiny piece of your good vibe and it will spread. People always bitch and moan about there never being any good news in the news, we screw the news! Our positive experiences are in our lives and in the places where we share them.

    Thanks for this.

    • Tammy says:

      No. Thank you, Jabiz. You taking the time to read my words, and comment means a lot.
      You walk the talk, dude 🙂

Leave a Reply

